A Burning: A novel by MAJUMDAR, MEGHA

$ 16.00 $ 10.40
Discount: 35%
You Save: $ 5.60

Availability : Out Of Stock

Product Type : FICTION

Vendor : RHTR

SKU : 9780593081259

CONDITION : Brand New Book



Author: MAJUMDAR, MEGHA
Pages: 304 pages
Release Date: 2021-06-29
A TODAY SHOW CHR(35)ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK! A New York Times Notable Book For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise -- to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies -- and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. In this National Book Award Longlist honoree and "gripping thriller with compassionate social commentary" ( USA Today ), Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in life, who is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. PT Sir is an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, and finds that his own ascent becomes linked to Jivan's fall. Lovely -- an irresistible outcast whose exuberant voice and dreams of glory fill the novel with warmth and hope and humor -- has the alibi that can set Jivan free, but it will cost her everything she holds dear. Taut, symphonic, propulsive, and riveting from its opening lines, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance at a breakneck pace on complex themes that read here as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice, and what it feels like to face profound obstacles and yet nurture big dreams in a country spinning toward extremism. An extraordinary debut.
How much is shipping?
$2.95 per order and free for orders over $39.

How long does delivery take?
Delivery normally takes about a week or less. We ship within 1-2 business days after receiving your order.

What items are returnable?
Within 30 days of receipt of your shipment
- In original condition
- In the original packaging

What items are non-refundable?
Free gifts or promotional items

Are there any charges for return?
There are no charges for return
Original shipping charges are non-refundable
You are responsible for return shipping charges

How do I return?
Visit Returns Center
Enter your order number and email address in the fields above and click Start a Return
Follow the screen instructions and select the items you want to return
You will get a confirmation email with shipping guidelines

How soon will I get my refund?
Once your return is received and inspected, we will send you an email to notify you that we have received your returned item.
We will also notify you of the approval or rejection of your refund. If you are approved, then your refund will be processed, and a credit will automatically be applied original method of payment, within 10 business days.

Recently Viewed Products

Sale

Unavailable

Sold Out